PHONE: +44 (0)1273 251 827 / +33 679826040
    
Jean Lurcat Lithograph Owl Limited Edition Hand Signed c1950-1960 unframed

Jean Lurcat Lithograph Owl Limited Edition Hand Signed c1950-1960 unframed

Dimensions:

W: 45.5cm (17.9")H: 56.8cm (22.3")

£1,532.11 Approx $1879.89, €1783.6
Qty 

Jean Lurcat Limited Edition Lithograph of an Owl / Chouette Hand Signed c1940-1960 unframed
Rare and Original numbered 44 of 200 a short run because the printing plates were destroyed once the 200 were produced taken from the original painting by Lurcat with 30 extra copies for the artist himself
Hand signed by the Lurcat in pencil and also his lithographer Berto who confirms the plates were destroyed
Full details confirmed on the back of the print
Lurcat 1892-1966
Famous Mid Century Painter Cartonnier Tapestry designer
Unframed on good art paper having with only very minor signs of age having been carefully preserved by former owner
Measures: Actual image 46cms 18inches high 35cms 13.8inches wide.
We will always try to offer FREE SHIPPING whenever possible

In 1917, Jean Lurçat made his first tapestries: Filles Vertes (Green Girls) and Soirée dans Grenade (Evening in Grenada).
In 1921, Jean Lurçat met Louis Marcoussis, he discovered Picasso and Max Jacob, and created decoration and costumes for Le spectacle de la Compagnie Pitoeff:
In 1936, Jean Lurçat was inspired when he saw the tapestry L'Apocalypse (The Apocalypse), which was woven in the 14th century. In 1938, Moisson was sewn. In 1939, he exhibited in New York and in Paris. In September, he took up residence in Aubusson with Gromaire and Dubreuil in order to renovate the art of tapestry, which at the time had fallen to a low point. His innovative technique used a simplified palette and robust weaving at broad point. During this period he abandoned oil painting in favour of poster paints. The Musée National d'Art Moderne (National Museum of Modern Art) acquired Jardin des Coqs (Garden of Roosters) and L'Homme aux Coqs (The Man of the Roosters), of which the cardboard would be destroyed by the SS in 1944 in Lanzac.